Nice beard

Russell: I saw Richard Madeley earlier today and he looked nice and ‘andsome. He sort of leaned out of his window and said, “Hey, you alright Russell?” And I went, “Alright, Richard? Where’s the beard?” Cos apparently he’d had a beard recently.
Matt: Do you know what? Do you know what that means as well? A gay man who has a wife, they call that his beard.
Russell: Oh my god he thinks that I think his marriage to Judy is a sham! Oh no! What have I said? I did, I looked over and went, “Where’s the beard?” And he went, “I’ve just got rid of it, it wasn’t working out!” OH NO! Watch the tabloids, watch the tabloids!”

I am no fan of Russell Brand, nor am I am fan of Russell Grant. And I don’t approve of sham wives or sham husbands either.

The above conersation on Radio 4 whilst not being Russell Brand’s most famous radio moment, the prescience of his ‘watch the tabloids’ comments aside, always made me wonder…….

Why aren’t there more beards in sport?

Since my face to tarmac interface a year or two ago I haven’t had a shave.
I keep my facial furniture tidy(ish) with beard trimmers.

And whilst there does seem to be a growing trend, if you’ll pardon the pun, for several cyclists to retain that unshaved, 2 day growth look, a la Mark Cavendish, there is still a shortage of real beards.
You know the sort of thing, a man’s beard, a grizzly adams, wildman, kind of beard.

So where are they?

Perhaps Russ Downing has the answer.

Oh and when I said I hadn’t shaved, of course I shave my legs, well it just wouldn’t be cricket otherwise.

One thought on “Nice beard

Leave a Reply

