Man vs Tree

“It’s just the place,” he explained, “for an Ambush.” “What sort of bush?” whispered Pooh to Piglet. “A gorse-bush?” “My dear Pooh,” said Owl in his superior way, “don’t you know what an Ambush is?” “Owl,” said Piglet, looking round at him severely, “Pooh’s whisper was a perfectly private whisper, and there was no need—-” “An Ambush,” said Owl, “is a sort of Surprise.”
“So is a gorse-bush sometimes,” said Pooh. “An Ambush, as I was about to explain to Pooh,” said Piglet, “is a sort of Surprise.” “If people jump out at you suddenly, that’s an Ambush,” said Owl. “It’s an Ambush, Pooh, when people jump at you suddenly,” explained Piglet. Pooh, who now knew what an Ambush was, said that a gorse-bush had sprung at him suddenly one day when he fell off a tree, and he had taken six days to get all the prickles out of himself. “We are not talking about gorse-bushes,” said Owl a little crossly.
“I am,” said Pooh.

 

I was ambushed today.

I was ambushed, not by a bush, but by a tree.

A big bloody tree.

It leapt out in front of me, they move quickly you know.

Still, I came out on top.

Although I am a bit bruised.

 

Oh and this all happened at the 2nd round of the Midlands XC MTB series at Cannock.

It was a tough race, made tougher by my argument with a tree.

As usual I was very well supported and I enjoyed the day.

We had a good Dirtwheels contingent there today, Neil & Nicky, Jane, John, Dieter & Helen, and Joey; who came down with me, Kate, and Milo, our dog who was resplendant in his DWC jersey.

It was also great to catch up with our good friends, Ryan & Emma, and Geoffrey & Fern. 

Leave a Reply

